recipes

Our Weekly Bread

I started making sourdough bread last year after learning about its digestive benefits.  I have always loved making bread and discovering that sourdough also has digestive benefits was too good to be true.  You can read more about the benefits here.

My mom makes everything from scratch and I’ll always love the familiar smell of fresh baking bread.  It reminds me of a happy, loving childhood.  There’s something about enjoying fresh homemade bread that makes people feel cared for and valued.  At least, it did for me, so I’ve always wanted my kids to have the same experience.  The other thing I love about sourdough is it keeps me on a weekly routine of baking bread, so as to keep the starter active.  I don’t have lapses of not feeling like baking because it’s become an easy routine.

I made my starter from the Betty Crocker Cookbook recipe.  It is very easy to make, or, perhaps you have a friend who can share their starter with you!  I am really enjoying the flavor of feeding it with milk, but you can feed it with something else if you prefer: water, beer, etc.

This is the recipe I use every Sunday evening to make our sourdough for the week:

Sourdough Bread from the Betty Crocker Cookbook

(with some slight modifications)

  • 1 c sourdough starter
  • 2 1/2 c all-purpose flour
  • 2 c warm water
  • 3 3/4-4 1/4 c all-purpose flour
  • 3 T sugar
  • 1 t salt
  • 3 T olive oil
  1. In large bowl, mix sourdough starter, 2 1/2 c flour, and warm water with wooden spoon until smooth.  Cover and let stand in warm place for 8 hours
  2. Add 3 3/4 c flour, the sugar, salt, and oil to mixture in bowl.  Stir until dough is smooth and flour is absorbed.  Dough should be firm enough to gather into a ball.  If necessary, add remaining flour.
  3. Knead dough about 10 minutes or until smooth and springy.  Grease large bowl, place dough in bowl, turning to grease all sides.  Cover and let rise in warm place about 1 1/2 hours or until dough has nearly doubled in size.  Dough is ready if indentation remains when touched.
  4. Grease two bread pans.  Push air out of dough.  Divide dough in half.  Shape each half into a round loaf.  Place each loaf in a bread pan.  Cover and let rise about 45 min
  5. Heat oven to 375 F.  Place loaves in the center of the oven.  Loaves should make a hollow sound when tapped when they are done.  Remove from pans and let cool on a cookie sheet.

Leave a Reply

