Activities with Kids, Faith, recipes

Granola & Grace

I rolled my eyes a little at the title of this post.  But, to be honest, food & Jesus tend to be two things that fill my mind the most throughout the day so it feels honest.  I wrote before that I am trying to involve my kids more in the meal preparation process.  It is hard for me at times because I don’t want to deal with the mess or the pace.  Oh, the pace.  Having kids has highlighted my need for improvement in the art of patience.  But, I’m learning and I have really been enjoying the time we spend making food together.  Granola is one of my favorite things to make with them.  I have a “base” recipe and let the kids add whatever they want (to a certain extent) to each of their recipes.  We’ve had chocolate chip peanut butter granola, extra raisin-y granola, and many more inventive creations.  It is so great to see how much my kids enjoy this contribution to our meals.

Oh, and about grace.  Lately, life circumstances have caused me to contemplate death.  And when you contemplate death, you have to also contemplate life.  What has been meaningful to me in these thoughts is meditating on the core of what I believe.  Every life is offered love and grace.  That is central to the message of the gospel and the hope of Jesus.  I want everyone to experience what it is like to accept that love and grace into their lives.  I want my kids to experience these truths every day.  I fail daily, but I hope my heart will always return to the core of what I believe is most important in life.  I hope in the daily routine or the sudden difficulty that my life remains constantly rooted in these truths.  I read recently that we can’t give our kids something that we don’t possess ourselves.  So, I will continue to seek and stand firm in what I know to be true:  this life has meaning because of the love and grace of Jesus.

I hope my kids feel this when we make granola together. 🙂

granola

 

Coconut Almond Granola

  • 1 cup almonds (I often substitute walnuts)
  • 1/2 cup shredded coconut, unsweetened
  • 3 cups oats
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 1/4 c brown sugar
  • 1/3 c honey
  • 4 T coconut oil + a little extra
  • 1/2 t vanilla

some favorite additions: cinnamon, poppy seeds, almond extract (for a really almondy taste), raisins, millet

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F
  2. Mix together dry ingredients
  3. Melt coconut oil, stir honey into melted coconut oil to warm honey slightly
  4. Add wet ingredients to dry ingredients and mix until thoroughly combined
  5. Add a little extra coconut oil into the bottom and sides of a 9×13 pan to grease slightly
  6. Firmly press the granola mixture into the 9×13 pan
  7. Bake for about 20 min or until granola looks nicely browned.  Do not stir!
  8. Allow the granola to cool completely in the pan.  Once it has cooled you can break it up and pull it out.  This makes for the best crunch!
Leave a Reply

